Mohon tunggu...
Nadia Bayu
Nadia Bayu Mohon Tunggu... Mahasiswa - Mahasiswa

Hello everyone, here's a thing about me. I'm just ordinary person, trust me i'm nobody. But i have a lot of dreams that i want it all to be come true. I like sing, and traveling. Hope you guys like it!

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Ilmu Alam & Tekno

How Do I Manage My Mental Health As a Student?

26 Oktober 2023   12:04 Diperbarui: 26 Oktober 2023   12:10 50
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Ilmu Alam dan Teknologi. Sumber ilustrasi: PEXELS/Anthony

Mental health is very important issue nowadays. As a student I’m also take care my mental health with several way. But first of all I want to share the things that bother my mental health. I usually feel (but I don’t want to self diagnose) anxiety, and insecure. It’s very common for people like me or around my age. I feel anxiety when I’m not confident enough to attend the class, sometimes it’s just because I overthink too much or I feel insecure at the same time. But I have to fight my anxiety because I know my parents spend a lot of money for me and my school. A lot of assignments make me burn out sometimes, meet my friends at class every morning when I’m not in the mood to and so many things that make me insecure and anxiety, yet that’s my duty as a student. So this is how I live my life  as usual and as a student, I’m telling you. First of all, I should wake up and force myself to wake up in the early morning, around 4.30 or 5 am everyday.

 After that i drink a lot of water to make my body stay hydrated, and pray subuh. After pray subuh, I go to the bathroom and take a shower. Shower in the early morning is really good for our body, because is very fresh. I do read some books, I read a book about self development, about philosophi and I guess I need more books to read. I usually eat something healthy and sometimes the dirty one. Insecuere and anxiety is really worse thing in my life so I make my best decision to handle it to out of it. When I’m done doing all of those things, now I’m telling you how I handle my anxiety and insecure to manage my mental health as a student. I’m always telling myself that I have to fight it, I should get out of it, the things that I shouldn’t feel it anymore.

 I’m always say the good words to myself it’s just like postitive affirmation, I usually do that at night before sleep and in the morning before I start my day. And it works. When I feel insecure I’m telling myself over and over again that I’m worth it, I’m beautiful, I’m enough, and I’m so powerful. So why should I feel insecure? But I’m sure most of people feel insecure sometimes, but we just have different way to solve it. Mostly I feel insecure about someone’s knowledge, I’m insecure with someone who confident to speak out loud and people who can be friendly with others. But sometimes about my body, but I think there’s nothing I have to worry about my body to feel insecure, because I know God’s hand is the best and no one can mocking God’s creature. When you know your capability why you should be worry about insecure, right? That’s how I think about it. I’m not good as everyone can imagine, but I know what’s worth for me. So as a student I do the things that I can do, and never think about the result before I try.

 Mental health is not an option we want to feel it or not. It is come naturally because we’re a human, i’m always aware that mental health is really important issue. So I really take care my mental health with things I can do. I really like nature, coffee shop with pine trees view and go to somewhere that is really not too much population it can reduce my stress, relaxing, and release all the burden I hold. So nature is the one of the best way to relax our brain and our body. When I feel anxiety I will take a deep breath and thinking it is really something bad or not, and if I feel not comfortable I will leave. No one want to feel anxiety and insecure at the same time. But they should know how to handle it. In my routine I always go to campus with good affirmation, I know it will come back to me. When we say good things, that good things will happen to us.

As a student we always know that we meet lecturer, friends and others, and each of them will ruin our day, so we should prepare there will always bad things happen to us instead we don’t want it. But I do sometimes get mental breakdown, I will cry a lot, I feel sad sometimes but I know everyone can do that without even they realise it. I will take care my mental health seriously, I don’t want to feel stress, depression, sad, or anything like that. That’s why I really do anything just to make my body, myself feel free and happy.

Because I know if our mental is healthy we can live our life without anger, sadness or something like that. We always know in our life we have option, we can choose what’s best for us for our mental, for our body. I do cut-off someone that is not good for me, that toxic one and people can’t bring joy, happiness and positive vibes. I don’t care, as long as my mental stable and healthy, it doesn’t matter for me. I shouldn’t force myself to be around people like that, so I don’t care. I need friends too, but not that one. So if I go to campus and meet new friend meet my friend and I know they’re not good for me, I will leave them.

We don’t have to be afraid if we lose some friend, if they’re not good for us leave them, our mental health is more important than lose one- toxic -friend. Campus life is worse sometimes, things always happen without even we expected. But that’s what we call life too. We can just accept it or leave it, as a student I don’t really care what comes next in my campus life, I just prepare for everything I can do and the things I can’t do it’s out of my control. I usually prepare in my mind that my days will not always going well as I can imagine but at least I know how to handle it.

So in this case, mental health is very important issue. We should take care our mental health, we should do something to make our mental stable. Don’t be afraid of something that you can’t control, just do anything you can control not that one you can’t control. We can’t control people’s behaviour so leave it. I’m sure when you can take care your mental health you will be able to live your life full of happiness because your brain telling you like this. If we think about happiness, good life and be kind our mental will be healthy. As a student we must aware about this.

Don’t think that you can’t handle your mental health, you must try it. It’s okay go to coffee shop alone, it’s okay eating alone, as long as we happy and for the better of our mental health just do it. Do something alone than with someone who brings you sadness, stress and toxic. Campus life will surrounded by people like that, but we can choose whose gonna be our friend. Don’t be naive just because you want to fit in with some circle. It’s not good, campus life will destroy our mental health if we can’t choose the better one for us, friends, vibes or anything. So make the best one to take care your mental health, because this is how I handle and manage my mental health as a student.

 

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Ilmu Alam & Tekno Selengkapnya
Lihat Ilmu Alam & Tekno Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun