Mohon tunggu...
Angela Costarica
Angela Costarica Mohon Tunggu... -

An ordinary girl who loves reading and writing.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Cerpen

Hero

20 Maret 2014   03:08 Diperbarui: 24 Juni 2015   00:43 21
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Cerpen. Sumber ilustrasi: Unsplash

“Beginnings are usually scary and endings are usually sad, but it is everything in between that makes it all worth living.” (Anonymous)

Sunday; April 28th, 1995. It has been three years after the deathly day in my life. I close my eyes and feel the rain outside. I remember all of them, that memory.

Thursday, April 28th, 1992

One evening my father came home and told us the news. Honestly, it was the worst news I ever heard.

Have you ever feel that future is seems like a dream; impossible thing to reach.

My father lost his job while my mother was only a housewife. At that time I was dreaming to be a doctorwhen I reach 24 years old. However, I had to forget that. Believe it or not, I felt like I wanted to go far away and never come back to this world, to my life.

I always get whatever I want just by clicking my fingers. I used to be the luckiest and happiest boy in the world.

Day by day, I spent my life sitting on a white wooden chair in the corner of the family room. I saw birds flying from trees to trees, my neighbor’s rabbit, and Billy through the window. I enjoyed the sunset, the evening wind which blew my hair, soft and gentle. It should be a beautiful and comfortable moment, right? My heart said that everything would be fine, but my brain couldn’t stop thinking of many bad things which might be happen to me and my future life. Bill Gates might be success although he had not proper education, but how about me? Without a good and proper education, I would only be a bum.

May 15th, 1992

It was a scariest day on my life. I only had $50 in my pocket and I was standing on a wide yard of a favorite university in England. I didn’t know how I could be so reckless to take the risk. I might be the most desperate people of all.

“Why are you standing here? Go!” Kevin said.

“No, I am afraid.”

“What are you afraid of?”

“Fail.” I said

“You will never know if you never try. It is a big chance for you, just go and do it.”

“Mama said that there are so many chances in this life. I think I will take the next.”

“Stop being a stupid boy. Chances are always exist but they usually knock too soft until you cannot hear them. You are blind and deaf because of your own fear so that you will never hear the other chances are coming.”

Honestly his words made me angry, very angry until I cannot say a thing. I entered the building and registered myself. 162786-A should be my lucky number.

I closed my eyes for a while and do the test.

Kevin smiled at me and said, “You have to do the best, because you are the best.”

Sunday, April 28th, 1995

It is more than a crowd here, in this narrow space. Actually it is a big auditorium but the people are in massive amount with the black and big suit. I see many happy faces, many beautiful smiles.

Yes, this is the day when I finally reach my dream. It is because of the hard work and the prayer from my family far away in the East.

“Congratulation, you have realize what seemed like a big imagination, doctor.” He said

I can feel the happiness and proud in him.

“Thank you Kevin for your support, for your effort to keep me on the right track.” I whisper.

Well, sometimes a rain is a terrible thing for us but it is a blessing for the other. The wish said that a rainbow will come after a hard rain.

“Kevin Ardianata.” I hear somebody calling my name through the microphone.

I stand up and tidy up my black suit. I walk to the podium as calm as it should be.

“Well done, Kevin.” I smiled to him in a mirror on the wall.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Cerpen Selengkapnya
Lihat Cerpen Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun