Mohon tunggu...
Nur Seta Bramadi
Nur Seta Bramadi Mohon Tunggu... Wiraswasta - Book writer and former English teacher in LPIA Jakarta and Bekasi (2008-2018)

I'm just a simple man who likes writing, blogging, playing PC game, watching movie, and listening to music. I had an experience in teaching English in Jakarta and Bekasi (2008-2018). My books: Filateli Sebagai Hobi dan Investasi (Balai Pustaka, 2001), Kursus Singkat Bahasa Inggris (BIP, 2011), Kursus Singkat Percakapan Bahasa Inggris (BIP, 2013), Kursus Singkat Bahasa Inggris Bisnis (BIP, 2016), and Percakapan Inggris-Indonesia Bidang Perawat dan Rumah Sakit (BIP, 2021). I had a diploma in graphic design from a School of Design in Jakarta (1993), but later changed my interest into English and literacy. Sometimes I write my blog in English or Indonesian. I was born and live in Jakarta. No one is perfect. Stay humble.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Film

Movie Review: Kindergarten Cop (1990) Starred by Arnold Schwarzenegger

10 Juli 2024   09:19 Diperbarui: 10 Juli 2024   09:22 24
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Sumber gambar: universal pictures / imagine entertainment

OK, here I go writing a movie review again. I'm not interested in writing more "serious" topics like politics or philosophy because I know there must be other people who have better capacity to write those topics. Why do I write mostly about movie/music reviews recently? The answer is simple... it's fun and can release my stress. Hopefully, it can release other people's stress too. Although I'm not either a movie nor a music expert, I enjoy watching movie and listening to music since my teenager time. So... yeah, I guess I know a little bit about movie or music... haha.

Kindergarten Cop is an action comedy movie starred by Arnold Schwarzenegger (as John Kimble, a police detective), Richard Tyson (as Cullen Crisp, a drug dealer), Pamela Reed (as detective Phoebe O'hara), and Linda Hunt (as Miss Schlowski, a school principal). This movie was directed by Ivan Reitman who also produced the film with Brian Grazer. The story is very simple... about a cop working undercover as a kindergarten teacher in order to capture a drug dealer. Funny situation appears as the cop had no experience before as a teacher. However, many kid students like him and even some make him as an ideal fatherhood. 

This movie received many critical responses. Rotten Tomatoes, an American review-aggregation website, gave score 5,60/10. They say that Kindergarten Cop is too grim for children and too cloying for adults. Metacritic, another online review media, gave score 61/100. CinemaScore, a film reviewer media based on Las Vegas, gave an average rate of "A-" (from A+ to F scale). It means --in my opinion-- the movie is actually not very bad, although might be better for children to be accompanied by adult to watch this movie. The action scenes of this movie are also good, although the comedy elements are a little dominant.

The budget of the movie was USD 26 million. The box office worldwide was fantastic... USD 202 million. Does it mean this movie is worth watching? It's up to you. As a blogger, I obviously can't force anyone to watch any movie. Personally, I think it's an "okay" movie... meaning it's something different from other Arnold's movies which are mainly full of action and violence. In other words, don't expect too much this movie would be full of explosions like Terminator (1984), Commando (1985), or Predator (1987) which were also starred by Arnold. Am I a big fan of Arnold? No, I'm not. I just found this movie is interesting. That's all. Anyway, there was a sequel titled Kindergarten Cop 2 (2016) and released direct to DVD starred by Dolph Lundgren. Any good? I don't know. I haven't watched it yet.  

 

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Film Selengkapnya
Lihat Film Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun