Mohon tunggu...
Ethenia Windaningrum
Ethenia Windaningrum Mohon Tunggu... -

Hello world, I walk a lot, eat a lot, sleep a lot, exercise a lot, laugh a lot, and now I try to write a lot to create lots of meaningful impact.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Lyfe

Life Doesn’t Have to Run as ‘The Supposed To Be’ Formula

3 April 2013   19:32 Diperbarui: 24 Juni 2015   15:47 85
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
13649922831157263570

We have heard many many times people say 'Sometimes life doesn't run as we planned'. What about 'Life doesn't have to run as the supposed to be formula?'. That's quite different with the first wisdom. However, maybe that happened to you, as to myself, as well. Through this writing, I will share some of my experiences in this life, and some little formulas to understand the 'formula'.

I was born as (I assume) 100% Indonesian, and it is Javanese blood that I have. Nevertheless, there are lots of people thought if I were non Javanese people, or even I'm not Indonesian (if I meet foreigners) because of my face that doesn't look like Javanese people at all. Both of my parents, and my siblings really have Indonesian look, but I'm not, and I don't know why. From the above paragraphs, you may think that I am not their real daughter, but I am! Well, some mixes of my Mom's and Dad's features got me this face, while the formula supposed to be that from Javanese-look parents, it will yield Javanese-look children. That's the first story.

Both of my parents took chemical engineering as their major in university, and my sister took chemical as her major. Guess what major did I take at university? First, I went to economics and second, I took communication science! That's totally different, but I took natural science as my major at senior high school, though. Well, the formula says that if your whole family took a 'X' major, you're not going too far from that, but I wasn't. And it was my own decision, and I'm proud with that difference and formula 'deviation'.

Enough story about me. Now let's talk about you, yes 'YOU'. Have you ever thought that if your parents do 'X', then what you will do later won't go far from 'X'? What about when you took program 'Z' at school, then you thought that automatically that 'Z' will take you to 'Y'? If those are too complicated, to simplify, if you're travelling to 'A', then you must see 'B'. Have you ever thought about any of them? The fact is, in life, you will encounter many surprising things more than you could ever imagine. In natural science, there are many formulas, and those are exact values, or at least you need to become a professor to prove if any value is misleading or wrong. Although natural science is a component of nature, galaxy, and life, but life is not only about natural science. Life is the sum of science, experience, and probability (in my opinion). You know science from the past-proven-theory written in some 'trustworthy' forms, and you as well as most of people believe that it is true. While experiences are some things that you gained, witnessed, and took; you believe in them because you knew how they feel and look like. And probability is about futuristic thing, it may be the same as what you and others predicted, or, it may be not.

Nah, if the natural science and exact formula are just parts of life; then the rest would be the non-exact formulas. They could be changed, transformed, and grown anytime beyond the 'theory in book' and beyond anyone could ever believe, including yourself. Anyhow, your belief will help you to crunch and sense those non-exact formulas. I mean, you, yourself can define what and how the non exact formulas that you want to add in your life. In simple words, you can set what are the 'changes' you want to have; the 'changes' that probably break the previous 'theory'. It's similar like dare to change and being different to have your own journey. Nonetheless, you have to remember that there are things that you won't be able to see now, and those will contribute to color your journey. They come in sudden, and they will change the formulas that you defined earlier. But let's think positively, like when they are coming, who knows that they will end up in the most magical formula ever, depends on how you will mix them with what you already had, although you don't think that they won't be good matches. Well, just like in the market, some products used to be 'failed' ones, but the company tried to think creatively and positively, thus they end up with their 'different' positioning and successfully steal many attention, love, and loyalty from their nowadays consumers. If you know that everybody is doing 'A', and that looks good, you have the full power to follow it or leave it. If you know that 'X' thing is proven to work well, you also can control whether you will follow the exact thing as 'X' or modify it. At the end, it's all about the guts and perspective, and there is nothing right or wrong, because every experience is good, and making a mistake is much more respectful than doing nothing. Note that if 'C' t-shirt looks good on 'Y', it might not look good on 'D'. Have you found or mixed the right 'formula' that suits you yet? :)

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Lyfe Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun