Mohon tunggu...
Mahatma Putra
Mahatma Putra Mohon Tunggu... -

.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Filsafat

The Man Who Sold the World

19 Agustus 2010   06:26 Diperbarui: 26 Juni 2015   13:53 135
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Filsafat. Sumber ilustrasi: PEXELS/Wirestock

We passed upon the stair, we spoke in was and when
Although I wasn't there, he said I was his friend
Which came as a surprise, I spoke into his eyes
I thought you died alone, a long long time ago

Oh no, not me
We never lost control
You're face to face
With The Man Who Sold The World

I laughed and shook his hand, and made my way back home
I searched for a foreign land, for years and years I roamed
I gazed a gazeless star, we walked a million hills
I must have died alone, a long long time ago

Who knows? Not me
I never lost control
You're face to face
With the Man who Sold the World

Who knows? not me
We never lost control
You're face to face
With the Man who Sold the World

The Man

"The Man Who Sold the World" is a song written by David Bowie and popularized by Nirvana. Kurt Cobain sang this song a moment before his suicide action. Implicitly, maybe Kurt wanted to tell the people that he'd already sold the world. Personally, I think he overstepped David Bowie, who originally wrote this song. At some point, Kurt understood this song better than Bowie.

Influenced by Nietzsche, in this song Bowie told us a lot about the Super-Human concept, or I'd like to say it "Superman". A man who'd overstepped all other man. A man who had a better consciousness and understanding of the universe. A figure like Buddha, Jesus, Mohammad, Janis Joplin, and Ken Arok perhaps? Figure mentioned before just an example about the Superman figure although I'm not literally saying that the person I mentioned is the superman figure, but in a simple way, they had some similar characteristic with the Super-Human concept. They all were men (or women) who had a better understanding.

The World

The world's values and wisdom have been evolving for ages. From one's truth transform into others. It's nothing more than buying and selling. To sell one's belief and buy the new one. To sell one's truth and bargain for a new one. In the middle age, every European kings believe that mercantilism is the only powerful economic system to conquer the world, but then it had been evolved into capitalism. Genghis Khan invaded another country to enslaved them. Nowadays, USA invades another country to gave them freedom.

The Men Who Sold It

HALAMAN :
  1. 1
  2. 2
Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Filsafat Selengkapnya
Lihat Filsafat Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun