Mohon tunggu...
Lina Hasna
Lina Hasna Mohon Tunggu... -

hakuna matata

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Sosbud

When The Hospitality Less Hospitable

25 September 2013   20:51 Diperbarui: 24 Juni 2015   07:24 145
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Sosbud. Sumber ilustrasi: KOMPAS.com/Pesona Indonesia

There will be the time when you longing to a very simple thing like greetings. Yes, I really miss the way Indonesian shopkeepers greet to the customer. Like what Alfa****/Indo***** greetings Selamat pagi, selamat berbelanja, Terima kasih kedatangannya, selamat belanja kembali. Even, when you come to ITC, or other market you’ll also find this greetings.

I thought that the greetings in some shops or vendors in Indonesia are something we call as alay. But when I come to this country, and found that nobody serve like Indonesian, I feel like there is something wrong. The ugly fact is that you’ll not find those greeting things in this what the so called as a Truly Asia country.

Well, it has been three months I lived in Lahad Datu, Sabah, Malaysia. You, know what, If I may say, Sabah is a less hospitable nation. Maybe for some countries in the world, the term of hospitable is degrading because of high-technology. But it doesn't happen in Sabah. I was so overwhelmed that people here aren't naturally hospitable. Warmth, generosity or friendliness is hard to find

The first time I went shopping with my friends, the shopkeepers aren't friendly. I really didn't like the way they look at me. Their eyes were like whispering hey stranger, what the hell are you doing? and when I paid to the cashier, her face was like shouting hey, you! DO you really wanna buy these things? Is it really affordable for you to pay it?

A couple weeks later, I visited another mall, I found some friendly shopkeepers, but then I should realize that being friendly and pretending to be friendly is not the same. They asked me where do I come from, my occupation, my reason why come to this state and my address. Well, that’s a normal question and a few minutes later they asked me a question that made me annoyed How much is your salary?. Certainly, I was really surprise to hear that question. Is it appropriate for the person who meets for the first time ask that question? Then, when I came to the cashier, he gave me question, Are you married? .  OMG, can you believe it? Why did these people ask me about these trashy questions?  Did they learn about civic or something?

What I need as the expatriate who come to this country is just value of loyalty to family or friends. Besides, good hospitable involves a great deal of honor and respect. Does it really matter for the so called as A Truly Asia Country?

Baca konten-konten menarik Kompasiana langsung dari smartphone kamu. Follow channel WhatsApp Kompasiana sekarang di sini: https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029VaYjYaL4Spk7WflFYJ2H

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Sosbud Selengkapnya
Lihat Sosbud Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun