Mohon tunggu...
Vicky Laurentina
Vicky Laurentina Mohon Tunggu... -

Saya lebih banyak menulis di: vickyfahmi.com. Instagram/Twitter: @vickylaurentina Kadang-kadang nge-Youtube.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Bahasa

An Hour, Close to Nowhere

26 Maret 2010   11:45 Diperbarui: 26 Juni 2015   17:11 61
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Bahasa. Sumber ilustrasi: FREEPIK/Jcstudio

How much do you access internet everyday? I’m not asking you how long, but more exactly, how often? I access Opera Mini anytime, each time I have spare time, each time I look at my cell. Before getting shower, I see my cell to look up my e-mail. After shower, I check my e-mail again. Before meal, I check my e-mail. And after meal, I check my e-mail again. And so do I before I leave home and even after I come home. Especially before I go to bed. And even right after I wake up.

It’s not too much. New e-mails catch me up almost every hour.

I’m sure I’m not the only one. Probably so are you. It’s the same reason. We can’t live without assuring that someone is looking for us. Even when no one is looking for us, we hurd up for anyone else. Do you realize that in lousy time you open up your browser only just for looking for any news site?

Then I ask. Can’t we stop, for one hour only, not to turn on internet in your cell, though it’s just for tweeting or seeing any new stories at Facebook?

Next Saturday, this March 27, the whole world is celebrating Earth Hour. In Earth Hour, between 20.3-21.30, we don’t turn on electricity at all. Turn off the power at home, at office. Including, turn off your cells. Then we’ll see how it feels, what’s life gonna be without electricity.

I celebrated this Earth Hour last year, when I still lived in Cali. I turned off the lamps in my apartment, and I also turned off the cells. I tried to ruin my work as it used to be, only with candle light. Actually I was used to it, coz it was a remote village where there was often electricity disturbance, so lotta houses didn’t turn on lights at night. But I was a cyber socialite, and I couldn’t wake up without GPRS connected to my cell. And I felt it, it was miserable for me. Even though it just took an hour.

So here’s the challenge. Can you celebrate Earth Hour, at next March 27, between 20.30-21.30, with no status updating at all?

Please share your comments with the others right here

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Bahasa Selengkapnya
Lihat Bahasa Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun