Mohon tunggu...
Juan Pradipta
Juan Pradipta Mohon Tunggu... Mahasiswa - an international communication student

-

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Ilmu Sosbud

Identity, A Characteristic of An Individual

23 September 2022   23:57 Diperbarui: 23 September 2022   23:59 84
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Ilmu Sosbud dan Agama. Sumber ilustrasi: PEXELS

Identity is how we understand ourselves and how we may appreciate the other person as a person. However, there are undoubtedly still many people who do not know themselves, or to put it another way, who they really are. We have our unique identities because we are citizens of the archipelago nation of Indonesia. Our identities will undoubtedly differ from those of other people due to diverse areas and parentage. Our identity is a continuation of our past, our present, and our future. It is also a continuation of our self-understanding today. Our family is the source of our identity. Since we were young, our family has been teaching us things that will be excellent resources for the future.

I am a child of the Javanese tribe, like myself, so my family always teaches me about the customs and traditions of the Javanese people. My family has always adhered to Javanese customs even though I don't live in Java. I have always been trained to always be friendly to others since I was a young child. When I take trips, this habit becomes a part of who I am. I constantly make an effort to be friendly to others around me, regardless of their race.

As well as me and my family, Javanese people are renowned for their friendliness. I was always encouraged to be friendly and to accept things as they are. While accepting reality as it is may be challenging for everyone, those of us from Java have been taught to do so since we were young, so I've become accustomed to it. I am learning how to be grateful for things since I always try to take life as it is. Although practicing gratitude might be challenging at times, if it has been ingrained in us since we were young, we will undoubtedly be able to do so every day and will also serve as a resource for the future.

I still have a lot of different identities, but they wouldn't be sufficient if I had to recount my narrative here. But each person in the world does in fact have their own identity, whether that identity is based on their race, state, religion, or another factor. Identity also describes how people are set apart from one another in their interpersonal interactions. Additionally, because we can communicate with each other more easily when we know who the other person is, our interactions with them will be more comfortable. Therefore, in order for communication to go well and for there to be no conflicts, we must be able to grasp and recognize the identity of another person.

In a large-scale society, identity is crucial. Identity's significance in cross-cultural communication is explained. Identity creates a person's profile. According to the standpoint of communication, identity is not created on its own but rather as a result of interpersonal communication. In a communication process, identity can be negotiated, strengthened, and altered. This identity's goal is to establish and strengthen a communication. To recognize and foster a friendly environment of connection, we as individuals must be able to respect and identify the identities of others.

Identity is a multifaceted, dynamic, abstract concept that plays an integral role in
daily communicative interactions and particularly in intercultural communication. (Samovar; 2017)

Reference:

Samovar, L.A., et al. (2017) Communication between Cultures. 9th Edition, Cengage Learning, Boston.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Ilmu Sosbud Selengkapnya
Lihat Ilmu Sosbud Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun