Mohon tunggu...
Floury Handayani
Floury Handayani Mohon Tunggu... wirausahawan -

penjual gado-gado, pembelajar, suka membaca, sedang belajar menulis, suka masak, senang makan enak

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Lyfe

Jakarta, Where Dream Comes True

6 Oktober 2017   17:40 Diperbarui: 6 Oktober 2017   18:09 711
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Sumber: Pinstake.com

"And when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you achieve it."(The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho)

When I was in senior high school, in my eyes my parents always prohibit whatever I want to do. I hope for being allowed to climb the mountain, go to cave or beach or do other outdoor activities like my cousins and classmates. Sometimes I wish I was born as a boy.There was a different treatment between boy and girl in my big family. I supposed not only my family, but also many others. A boy might come home lately or even stay in his friend's home and do extreme activities. Yet a girl had to be at home before 9 pm and when went home late, my father would wait in front of the door and ask with whom, even if I got his permission for school events or urgent matter. Hello, I was big enough to take care of myself. That was so frustrating.

Nevertheless, my big dream was going to Jakarta. Why? In the first grade of senior high school, I had a classmate that told me about her holiday in Jakarta. She visited her sister that work and stay in Jakarta. She said that Jakarta is very big town with sky buildings and double decker buses. It was very amazing for me, a teenager from little town without city bus and the highest building only has third floor. Her story about Monas, Jalan Sudirman, the center business district in Jakart), and her elder sister's office were bearing in my mind. I must go to Jakarta. My desire was being free.

Freedom is a magical word for young person. From Canadian youth survey since 1980, the second important thing for teenagers is freedom (85%), while the most important is friend (86%). That is why we usually see rebelliousness and independency in this age. The transformation process from childhood to adult often drive youth to do anything to show that they are mature, however parents see and control them like they never grow up.

My curiosity to visit Jakarta saved in my memory, and there was a way when alumni association come to my school shared their successful experience to enter the favorite universities. It was a routine program, the seniors gave tips and trick how to achieve them to juniors. They also told about the university environment, living cost and how to contact them if juniors were accepted by the university. As the eldest of 5 siblings, it likes a day dream to continue study in other town.

My parents said that I had to register the state university in my city. I knew their concern. By continuing undergraduate degree in our town, they only prepared for the tuition fee. However, the story about Indonesia State College of Accountancy (STAN) from the alumni inspired me to reach it. STAN is three year program education that funded by Ministry of Finance of Indonesia. There is no cost being charged to the students, in return, the graduates are obliged to serve in Ministry of Finance or other government institutions.  More than that, the students also earn allowance in the second and third year. The most inspiring me is the location. It is in Jakarta. 

June 1993, the day of senior high school graduation had come. All of my effort and pray was for one goal, STAN, while my father asked me to apply mechanical engineering department of the university of  Brawijaya in our city. Becoming an engineer was his dream that never come true. For accommodating my desire and his, I admit mechanical engineering for him and STAN for me. I got both and we had a hot discussion to determine my future. My father was of the view that engineer had a bright future. STAN just three years program that need more time to achieve bachelor degree. I said that STAN give more certainty, as a government employee. In my heart, I also said that I can be free to play outdoor activities if being far from my parents. After a hot discussion, he allowed me go to Jakarta.

I was a good daughter and always become role model for my younger sisters. My dream of Jakarta was my first rebellion. Remembering that moment, I was very sorry as I hurt his feeling. I loved him so much, didn't mean to make him sad but I wanted to pursuit my happiness.

The campus location was in Bintaro, a border area between Jakarta and Tangerang. I went to Jakarta using train, accompanied by my uncle. After meeting the alumni from my high school, my uncle left me. The seniors helped juniors to re-registration, find rental house and shop the day necessity. I and all new students from my town prepared for new student orientation together. A week after that, we went to Monas by bus. From Bintaro to Monas, we passed Jalan Sudirman and Jalan Thamrin. The wide roads with many type cars and buses, the high buildings, and circle fountain in front of Hotel Indonesia. Wow, it gave me great impression. I was very excited. I promised myself, someday I will work in one of the sky buildings here. Even I didn't know whether there is finance minister's office along Jalan Sudirman-Thamrin or not. 

One time, my father asked me again to consider to go home, back for mechanical engineering. I said no, it is my choice. I will prove that my decision is not wrong. I knew the universe will help me. Later, my father accepted my preference and proud of me when he attended my graduation day from STAN. As one of the top students, he could see I shake minister of finance's hand.

From June 2002 to June 2017, I had worked in Jalan Thamrin, where my dream comes true. I believe that giving the chance to our teenagers will encourage them to be responsible and looking after themselves. They will achieve what they believe. And now, I am pursuing my next dream.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Lyfe Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun