Mohon tunggu...
Ferri Ahrial
Ferri Ahrial Mohon Tunggu... pelajar/mahasiswa -

Menulis di indonesiakreatif.net\r\n\r\nferriahrial@hotmail.com\r\nFollow me on Twitter; @FerriAhrial

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Sosbud

The Reasons: Why I Quit Smoking

19 Maret 2014   12:14 Diperbarui: 24 Juni 2015   00:45 45
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Sosbud. Sumber ilustrasi: KOMPAS.com/Pesona Indonesia

All the people here in Indonesia have known about Indonesian smoking behavior.  It is very unstoppable. Yet some people still trying to put a halt of this matter. The regulation about smoking and tobacco does not mean anything to the industry. They had their own way in economics benefit. The latest issue is about UN Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC). Indonesia is the only Southeast Asian country not to have ratified the convention. (Read: Govt urged to ratify antitobacco convention on Jakarta Post)

I used to be a addictive smoker a year ago. First of all, I personally stopped to consume it due to health problems. Before quitting permanently, I ensure that decision has to be reasonable, to me and to the society. I conducted small-scale research about the policy of Indonesian tobacco industry. Unfortunately, the government reason of supporting the tobacco industry is on behalf of the prosperity of tobacco farmers. Yet the government’s fear of high unemployment seems to make no sense to me. Because, most of the farmers below the poverty line. But, I remained to smoke even felt doubt.

Sex, Lies & Cigarettes: Vanguard Sneak Peek, a documentary film about Indonesian tobacco industry made my decision became almost final. From that documentary, I found the rapid penetration of smoker. The target market was segmented. The student smoker could buy the cigarette by the price of a single item. It was very cheap, from 500,- rupiahs until 1000,- rupiahs. The harsh reality that I had to accept is every school in Indonesia has their cigarette store. Not inside the school, it is nearby the school. You may re-check it if you want to!

In Indonesia, smokers could freely bloat infants and pregnant women, without feeling guilty. It is one of bad behavior that I have ever had. To this serious matter, I emphasize that it is not merely about the economics benefit, but also about the psychological disorder, including the government policy. I am not an anti-smoker. I personally decide to resist the smoker who is not responsible to their environment, or at least to their pregnant wife or infants.

The last reason is almost of every smoker wants to quit from their smoking behavior. So, I think it is a very strongest reason why I chose to quit. The children in Thailand also talks to the smoker in anti-smoking ads on Youtube: “You worry about me, but why not about yourself? Check out the video here: Perhaps one of the best anto-smoking ads ever.

Baca konten-konten menarik Kompasiana langsung dari smartphone kamu. Follow channel WhatsApp Kompasiana sekarang di sini: https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029VaYjYaL4Spk7WflFYJ2H

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Sosbud Selengkapnya
Lihat Sosbud Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun