Mohon tunggu...
Athena Pallas
Athena Pallas Mohon Tunggu... -

Mari Nulis.\r\n\r\n\r\n

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Puisi

Lament of Lilith (1)

31 Desember 2010   17:55 Diperbarui: 26 Juni 2015   10:06 135
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
12938176301499005667

[caption id="attachment_82714" align="aligncenter" width="400" caption="Lilith"][/caption] .

From the opaque pages of a myth, long before history.

At primeval creation, we were made as equals

From earthen clay. We stood as high, and I bow to no one.

In the paradise of Eden we live in harmony,

As only two can pair and share. Until the day

You desire Power, the original temptation.

And with head held high, firmly I pledged:

I am no part of you; I am no bone of your bones.

My flesh, mind and soul are not to be subdued,

Or soon I shall wither and perish.

I will not lie beneath you,

A mortal equals to me.

This is my oath,

I will not lie beneath you!

By the name of God, the unspoken one!

.

.

Thunder struck and the mighty wind howled,

And I took flight, to the Red Sea of blood and tears

Where I lived as a free being among the fallen ones,

Outcasts: Doubted and banished. Then three angels

Were sent to summon me back, to become

Your obedient mate, into submission.

I stood unswayed in the face of blasphemies

And terror. And such threat: My children

Were to be taken by a hundred each day!

I rose in demonic fury:

Is this the price I must pay

For my freedom and my stand?

O my beloveds, fruit of my womb,

My Flesh and blood!

Nobody takes anyone’s children! Then,

I too, shall prey the children of mortals

Unprotected by amulets ingrained

With your three names,

In equal number, a hundred each day!

No sweet lullabies could keep me

Away from their cradles.

.

.

Blinded by anger and sadness, I roamed the dark

And gloomy nights, a raving madwoman.

Although never could my heart, my

Serpentine wisdom, allows me to devour

The innocent children of mortals. In their

Sleeping faces, I see images of my own seeds

Laid to waste by the hundred each day.

**

.

.

Further reading on Lilith: http://www.pantheon.org/articles/l/lilith.html

http://witcombe.sbc.edu/eve-women/7evelilith.html etc.

Image: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2206/2535548798_68919c750d.jpg

For: RW

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Puisi Selengkapnya
Lihat Puisi Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun