Mohon tunggu...
alienz marshamallow
alienz marshamallow Mohon Tunggu... -

I was born a man... live as an alien... and hope to die free from alienation...

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Politik

Jokowi versus Prabowo, Which One to Pick?

31 Mei 2014   00:46 Diperbarui: 23 Juni 2015   21:55 132
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Politik. Sumber ilustrasi: FREEPIK/Freepik

Politics are tricky. Writing about politics in English is far trickier. However, I am determined to do so, no matter how short or how dull this post may end up. I am back to writing at this blog after a long hiatus, as I can not resist myself from taking part in the commotion surrounding the upcoming presidential election. The social media war that's going on between the supporters of Jokowi and those of Prabowo's was so massive and cut-throat!

So far I have not made up my mind on who to pick in the presidential election. My original pick was none of the above, ( He was "betrayed" by the chief of his party so he ended up not being nominated), so it should be understandable if i am thus far still confused on who to pick. Hopefully, writing this post will somehow help me decide who the man i will eventually vote for. We'll see...

May be I should just start analyzing the two candidates using all the information that I have managed to gather thus far, as well as my personal views and feelings towards them which may or may not be biased.

Let's start with Jokowi. Info on this candidate is abundant in the social media, most of them unfortunately turned out to be libelous. Allegations on his religious belief, his origins, the financial backing he has,etc. They are all so hideous if they turn out to be true. The question now is, are they all fabricated lies or is there some fire behind the smoke? For some reason I think there may be some truth behind these so called smear campaigns. Out of 100 hits, they can't all miss the mark? At least 1, in my opinion should get the bull's eye? Only God knows.

One thing I consider interesting is the fact that Jokowi or the people behind him like to give the impression of a modest human being. Non-extravagant. However, observing the banners about Jokowi ubiquitous all over the country, the ads and everything about him, I can say for sure that the funding behind him, the money machine supporting his campaign is much larger than what his rival, Prabowo has. My question is, who are these people? What is their motive? Is their motive in line with the image that Jokowi supposedly represents? Modest living, pro people, pro poor? Big question mark. One calming fact to me is, to hear that a person of a high calibre such as Anies Baswedan is endorsing Jokowi. So, Jokowi can't be that bad, can he?

Now, let's turn to Prabowo. Honestly, at first I was smitten by his "ekonomi kerakyatan" proposal. I often joke to my colleagues that if Prabowo becomes president, some part of Jakarta will be converted into paddy fields:-) That's never going to happen I am sure, but it's okay to dream, right? However, as time progressed, especially after looking at the people he picked for his campaign team, I am beginning to feel highly skeptical that his " ekonomi kerakyatan" proposal will ever come true, if he chooses those people ( some have very questionable reputation) to support him in this country's administration. Then of course there is this notorious issue of human rights violation. My personal view is that Prabowo, as well as Wiranto and the other officials should be questioned as to what happened on that day/era. They should not be presumed innocent or guilty before their statements have been heard and validated. I am not that much informed if such thing has actually been done by the human rights commission during prior nvestigations following the tragedy. If its been done and validated, then everyone should leave Prabowo and the other officials alone.

What I like about Prabowo is he looks more firmed and decisive than Jokowi. The fact that he was part of the elite group Kopassus should logically give him some high level of discipline, self-control and leadership prowess that should be beneficial for him in leading this country should he be elected president.

Well, enough about this two. Unfortunately writing down what I know and feel about has not helped me much in deciding who to vote for.

I am still not entirely convinced by the track record of either of the two candidates. So, what to do?:-)

Blaah...this post...but I am publishing it anyway, to see how people would respond..:-)

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Politik Selengkapnya
Lihat Politik Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun